Licensure & Reporting Harm

For licensure questions, please contact Rowan Goodrich at [email protected]

The S.C. General Assembly passed the S.C. Dietetics Licensure Act to regulate persons engaging in the practice of dietetics or nutrition. Act 392 is effective July 1, 2006. For more information, visit the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation (LLR).

The LLR state licensure renewal date is May 31st. The initial application fee is $175, and the $100 renewal fee of your license is due every other year, during odd numbered years. For full details on licensure renewal (including an application), visit LLR Panel for Dietetics Licensure Requirements
You can look up a licensee by clicking here
The South Carolina Panel for Dietetics Administrator is Meredith Butler, who can be reached at: [email protected] 


How Is an RDN Different Than a Nutritionist?

To put it briefly, all registered dietitians are nutritionists but not all nutritionists are registered dietitians. The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Board of Directors and the Commission on Dietetic Registration approved the term “nutritionist” for optional use by registered dietitians in 2013. Dietitians can now use the title Registered Dietitian (RD) or Registered Dietitian Nutritionist (RDN). The “RD’ and “RDN” credentials are legally protected titles that can only be used by practitioners who are authorized by the Commission on Dietetic Registration of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. In SC Registered Dietitians may use either the RD or RDN credential.

Requirements to be a RD / RDN

Registered Dietitian Nutritionists (RDNs) are food and nutrition experts who have met the following criteria to earn the credential:
  • Completed a minimum of a bachelor’s degree at a US regionally accredited university or college and course work accredited or approved by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
    ** About half of all RDN’s have advanced degrees
    ** Many RDNs have specialist certifications
  • Completed an accredited supervised practice program at a health-care facility, community agency, or a food service corporation or combined with undergraduate or graduate studies. Typically, a practice program will run six to 12 months in length.
  • Passed a national examination administered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR). For more information regarding the examination, refer to CDR’s website at
  • Complete continuing professional educational requirements to maintain registration.
  • Comply with the Code of Ethics

For more information on the RD RDN Credential, click here.

Requirements to be a Nutritionist

Anyone may call himself or herself a nutritionist, the term is a general, non-accredited title and not regulated by law. While there are some individuals with advanced degrees from colleges and universities that use the term nutritionist, there are no educational requirements nor are there any consumer assurances related to working with a nutritionist. Nutritionists generally do not belong to a professional body, which can govern continuing educational requirements or ethical conduct. Additionally, nutritionists have no professional practical training requirements related to the diagnosis and treatment of disease.


How to Report Harm

A complaint against a licensee, or an unlicensed person practicing a profession or occupation that requires a license, may be made on complaint form. You may download the form from the Board's Web site or request to have one mailed by calling (803) 896-4651. The complaining party is responsible for ensuring that all necessary information is included on the form.

In completing the form, you are referred to as the complainant. The individual or business you are filing a complaint against is referred to as the respondent.

Please state all facts briefly and clearly. Also, include the name, address and phone number of all witnesses, and the specific information they possess to substantiate the complaint. Please include copies of any documents, records, statements or contracts that may assist this agency to conduct an inquiry.

Upon completion, simply click on "Submit" to file the complaint with the agency.

Upon receipt of the complaint and jurisdiction is established, a thorough investigation is conducted to determine whether a violation has occurred. Although this action is between the State and the Respondent, the complainant should be prepared to testify, as requested, at a hearing before the Board or Commission if the matter has not been otherwise resolved. The complaint will be dismissed by the Board or Commission if a violation is not found or the case does not present evidence that would sustain a legal procedure. However, if a violation of the practice act is found, the respondent may be offered a consent agreement, or a hearing may be held before the appropriate Board or Commission to resolve the findings of the agency's investigation.

Incident Reporting Tool
For Documenting Stories of Success and Reporting Harm

The Academy developed the Incident Reporting Tool to support its efforts to protect the public, enhance the quality of nutrition care and promote self-regulation of the profession. The IRT fills a critical gap in supplementing the documentation of noteworthy incidents in the provision of nutrition care services across the country. Patients, members of the general public and health care practitioners can now easily document examples of successful nutrition care, showing the value of qualified practitioners. In addition, incidents of harm or unethical practice can be submitted using the IRT. Click here for the Academy's IRT web page. For more information, visit the IRT FAQ page.

To contact the SCAND Licensure liaison regarding a licensure question, please send an e-mail to [email protected]

South Carolina Dietetics Practice Act

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I know if someone is licensed as a dietitian in South Carolina?
Anyone can verify that a person is licensed by clicking the "Licensee Lookup" link available on our Web site at LLR Online Verification; this information is updated every 24 hours.

Must I be a Registered Dietitian in order to be eligible for a license to practice dietetics in South Carolina?
Yes. All licensed dietitians must have a current registration issued by the Commission on Dietetic Registration before a license is issued. Web site:

Do I have to maintain my RD status with the Commission to keep my South Carolina license?

When do I renew my Dietitian's license?
License renewals are due May 31 of odd numbered years. The pocket card issued when you first obtained a license and thereafter upon renewing, displays the license expiration date.

What is the fee to renew my Dietitian's license?
If renewed by May 31 of odd numbered years $100; $150 if renewed during June.

How do I renew my Dietitian's license?
Online renewal is available by going to the LLR Portal. Renewal notices are sent at least 3 months prior to the due date to all licensees with instructions on how to renew online.

Are there continuing education requirements for license renewal?
Yes. By maintaining a current registration with the Commission on Dietetic Registration the CE requirements for license renewal are met. A compliance audit is conducted that randomly selects licensees that will be notified to submit to the Panel office proof of a current registration